Thursday, April 24, 2014

Tarah Sweeting-Trotter wins the 2014 CAPE Award

Tarah Sweeting-Trotter, an undergraduate academic advisor at the University of Illinois Springfield, was honored with the 11th annual Chancellor's Academic Professional Excellence Award (CAPE) on April 24, 2014.

Sweeting-Trotter, along with Karen Moranski, associate vice chancellor for undergraduate education, created the Students Transitioning for Academic Retention and Success (STARS) Living Learning Community at UIS. The program helps select freshmen by offering them enhanced academic support services to help ensure success at UIS.

“This program was created because Tarah saw a need that wasn’t being fulfilled and stepped up to fill that gap,” said her nominator. “She spends extra time, extra effort and goes above and beyond for her students. She has a very can-do-attitude and is a pleasure to work with.”

She’s also helped to create and implement two summer bridge programs for freshmen and sophomore students and a peer advising program. She offers Faculty Development workshops to promote faculty advising, among many other projects.

Sweeting-Trotter has presented at several national advising conferences and recently earned her Ph.D. in English from St. Louis University. She teaches in both the Sociology/Anthropology and Women and Gender Studies departments at UIS.

The CAPE Award recognizes U of I academic professionals for their efforts in three general categories: work projects, professional development and affiliations, and contributions to their units. The winner receives $500 in cash for personal use, and another $500 is given to the winner’s department.

All academic professionals are eligible to receive the CAPE Award; nominations are reviewed by campus committees and candidates' names are forwarded to the chancellor, who makes the final selections.

Others nominated for the 2014 CAPE Award include Jeannie Capranica, Sean Crawford, Rachel Lattimore, Kathryn Kleeman Lesniak, Tulio Llosa, Kara McElwrath, Kerry Poynter, Christina Ryan, Natalie Taylor, and Lisa Whelpley.

No comments: