Monday, February 23, 2015

UIS student newspaper staff wins awards from the Illinois College Press Association

The Journal, the student newspaper at the University of Illinois Springfield, won six awards in an annual Illinois College Press Association (ICPA) competition judged by professional journalists throughout the state.

Awards were presented at the annual ICPA convention, held Feb. 20 and 21 in Chicago. Entries from Spring Semester 2014 and Fall Semester 2014 were recognized.

Receiving honorable mention in a “Shoot Chicago” was Destiney Boyd, Journal multi-media editor and photographer. Boyd competed against photojournalists from daily and non-daily student newspapers in capturing images representing “weather.” Boyd’s photo featured a close-up of bundled-up shoppers talking and walking along the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago.

Journal cartoonist and illustrator Alex Johnson won second-place for editorial cartoon in an open competition that included student newspapers from throughout Illinois.

Joe Miller, a fall 2014 UIS graduate, and Brittany Henderson, a spring 2014 UIS graduate, each won third-place in a competition of non-daily student newspapers from schools with enrollments of more than 4,000. Miller won for sports game coverage, and Henderson for feature photography.

Also in that competition, Daniell Bennett, a former Journal assistant editor, won honorable mention for headline writing, and former Journal layout and design editor Hillary Rikli won second-place for front-page layout.

Among the schools competing in the division of non-dailies with enrollments of more than 4,000 were DePaul, the University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Chicago, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Bradley, Columbia College, and Loyola.

No comments: