Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Criminal Justice Honor Society inducts four at UIS

Four new members were recently inducted into the Epsilon Chi Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the national criminal justice honor society at the University of Illinois Springfield.

Alpha Phi Sigma, the only national honor society for criminal justice majors, recognizes the academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students. To be eligible, students must have completed at least one-third of the total hours required for graduation and must maintain specified grade-point averages overall and in the major.

Inductees include Jenna Edwards of Belvidere, IL; Nicole Holland of Peoria, IL; Zachary Miller of Mattoon, IL; and Alex Womack of Springfield, IL.

These new members join the following continuing members: Ryan Hudson of Litchfield, IL; Bret Merna of Peoria, IL; Lindzee Edwards, Trevor Edwards, and Julianna Richards of Springfield, IL; Jeffrey Jacobs of Jacksonville, IL; Lauren Ladage of Auburn, IL; and Alex Power of Petersburg, IL. Julianna Richards is serving as President of the chapter, with Trevor Edwards as Vice-President and Lindzee Edwards as Secretary and Treasurer.

For more information on the honor society contact Juanita Ortiz, assistant professor of Criminal Justice at 217/206-8481 or email jorti2@uis.edu.

No comments: