Tuesday, May 08, 2012

College of Business and Management honor society inducts 30 new members; honors mayor

The University of Illinois Springfield Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society chapter inducted 30 College of Business and Management students and three faculty members during a ceremony on Saturday, May 5, 2012 in Brookens Auditorium.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International. The society grants admission to the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate class and the top 20 percent of graduate students.

Students inducted at this year’s ceremony include Brian Adams, Stephanie Arndt, Melinda Ballard, David Blankenship, Jane Brown, James Burgdorf, Megan Canny, Dustin Dennison, Peter Drake, Diane Dunn, Tracey Genovese, Christina Geyer, Jennifer Heinemann, Andrea Hill, Cullen Hoos, Gary Huwe, Devon Martin, Tyler McKay, Brock Menold, Jason Nieman, Keri Odle, Wendy Petruzzello, William Piper, Timothy Shoemaker, Erin Stewart, Abby Vorreyer, Elizabeth Voss, Jagannadha Vuppalapati, Evan Westlake, and Heather Young.

Faculty members inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma were Karl McDermott, Ph.D.; Nathan Steele, Ph.D.; and Jorge Villegas, Ph.D.

Springfield Mayor Mike Houston was also recognized as Chapter Honoree in acknowledgment of his support for UIS and the College of Business and Management. The mayor has served on the Dean’s Advisory Board since its inception in 2009.

The mission of the society is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to foster personal and professional excellence, to advance the values of the society, and to serve its lifelong members.

No comments: