Tuesday, February 22, 2011

UIS student journalists honored with Illinois College Press Association awards

Staff members from The Journal, the weekly student newspaper of the University of Illinois Springfield, were recently honored with seven awards during the annual Illinois College Press Association convention in Chicago. Judges for the annual competition were professional journalists from throughout Illinois.

Six of the awards were for work published in spring semester 2010 and fall semester 2010 editions of The Journal.
  • In-Depth Reporting, Honorable Mention, Kate Richardson, Luke Runyon and Marianne Payne
  • Editorial, Third Place, Luke Runyon, Kate Richardson, Valeree Dunn and Michael Omenazu
  • Sports Photo, Third Place, Colten Bradford
  • Sports Column, Third Place, Brian Seay
  • Headline Writing, First Place, Luke Runyon
  • Feature Story, Second Place, Luke Runyon
Photographer and assistant editor for news Colten Bradford also received an honorable mention award for a photo shoot contest held in Chicago.

Among the student newspapers The Journal competes against in the non-daily division (universities/colleges with enrollments of 4,000 and above) are the SIUI-E Alestle, The DePaulia, Columbia Chronicle, Chicago Maroon (University of Chicago), Loyola Phoenix, and the Chicago Flame (University of Illinois at Chicago).

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Great work Journal Team! Glad to see you guys keep pushing yourselves to produce a high quality student newspaper.