Monday, March 02, 2015

UIS students win awards and offices at Model Illinois Government simulation

Several University of Illinois Springfield students were honored during the annual Model Illinois Government (MIG) simulation at the Illinois State Capitol this weekend.

Five students won individual awards for their involvement in MIG. Garrett McAlister was honored with the Outstanding Contribution to MIG award, Michael Dahmane won Outstanding Member of the Senate, Duane Malany won Outstanding Journalist, and Andrea Carlson and Austin Mehmet won the award for Outstanding Moot Court team.

Additionally, four UIS students were elected to statewide office within the Model Illinois Government organization. Marc Reiter was elected governor, Nathan Piper was re-elected president of the senate, Garrie Allen IV was elected speaker of the house, and David Wilson was elected treasurer.

Each year, students from about 30 colleges and universities around the state gather at the Illinois State Capitol to serve as legislators, staffers, lobbyists, journalists, and officials of the executive branch. Through committee actions, a regular legislative session and a veto session, participants learn the legislative process by doing it.

MIG members get started in the fall term preparing legislation, polishing up parliamentary skills, and organizing the membership into a delegation for the spring conference.

For more information, contact Kenneth Owen, UIS assistant professor of history at 217/206-7439 or

No comments: