Friday, August 05, 2016

UIS Library Dean Pattie Piotrowski named the Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year

Pattie Piotrowski, university librarian and dean of library instructional services at the University of Illinois Springfield’s Brookens Library, has been named the Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year by the Illinois Library Association (ILA).

The award, presented by the ILA Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries Forum, recognizes an Illinois librarian who is making an outstanding statewide contribution to academic or research librarianship and to library development. The award is sponsored by the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois.

“It is an honor to be recognized by my colleagues in Illinois academic libraries,” said Piotrowski. “To have fellow librarians and library staff support me is truly humbling. As I glance over the list of past recipients of this prestigious award, I am quite honored to join them. Any success I’ve had is due to many colleagues, friends, and family members who have shown support, given mentoring and shared humor, and I thank them all.”

Currently the President of ILA, Piotrowski has been an active ILA member since 2003 and has distinguished herself through her service to the Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries (IACRL), ILA and the Illinois library community in general. As an active member of IACRL, Piotrowski participated in conference planning duties for three IACRL conferences, including serving as chair of the 2014 conference planning committee. She also served on the IACRL executive board from 2012-2015, as Vice President/President-Elect (2012-2013), President (2013-2014) and Past President (2014-2015).

During her tenure with IACRL, Piotrowski worked to create a more engaged and tangible environment for its members, including bringing the ILA lobbyist to speak at the IACRL Luncheon at the annual ILA conference, coordinating the IACRL booth at ILA conferences, and coordinating new-member recruitment efforts.

In presenting the award, the ILA stated “Piotrowski strives to create environments in which everyone—from students to administrators—not only feels welcome but also understands that they are part of a community that is dedicated to the enrichment of students’ lives. Piotrowski emphasizes that at higher education institutions, faculty, staff and administrators should be constant in their connection to their communities by remembering the significance of their roles.”

The Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon held on Tuesday, October 18, during the 2016 Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in Rosemont.

No comments: