Wednesday, March 09, 2011

Communication graduate wins regional Distinguished Thesis Award

James Anderson, a May 2010 graduate of the University of Illinois Springfield Communication master’s program has been selected as one of two recipients of the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools’ Distinguished Thesis Award.

Anderson’s thesis “Laughter is Critical: An Analysis of the Sociopolitical Satire on The Daily Show with John Stewart and The Colbert Report Using the Propaganda Model as a Guide” was selected from a group of 39 entries from around the Midwest. His thesis previously earned the 2010 UIS Special Merit Award on the campus level.

“I put a lot of time and energy into the thesis -- some serious 'special merit,' if you will -- and recognition for all of that hard work from UIS and MAGS has been much appreciated,” said Anderson.

The award will be handed out during at the annual meeting of the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools March 30 – April 1 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Anderson and his faculty adviser Dr. Amie Kincaid, assistant professor of Communication have been invited to attend. Anderson has been asked to give a ten minute overview of his work at the conference.

“I would be remiss not to thank Amie ‘The Doc’ Kincaid for her enormous contribution as chair of my committee. She deserves a lot of the credit. Without her guidance I never would've been able to do what I did,” said Anderson.

“James was a pleasure to work with and I find his thesis to be emblematic of all the work he takes on – high quality, entertaining and thought provoking. This is not the last time we will see James bring honor to UIS,” said Kincaid.

Anderson is currently enrolled in the Mass Communication and Media Arts doctoral program at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. He hopes to one day become a professor studying critical communication.

The Midwest Association of Graduate Schools is made up of more than 100 member institutions in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

No comments: