Monday, February 03, 2014

UIS Student Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management inducts 13 members

The University of Illinois Springfield Student Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) inducted 13 members during a chartering ceremony on Saturday, February 1, 2014 on campus.

Heidi Bruce of Virden; Kari Elliott of Macomb; Prerna Khullar of Bhadohi, India; Nhung (Aerie) Nguyen of Vietnam; Joan Ogwumike of Chicago; Geoff Piehl of Prospect Heights; Kerry Portillo-Lopez of Aurora; Joseph Schweickert of Peoria; Ryan Steffen of Springfield; Ashley Tague of Mt. Zion; Kim Tokarski of Hobart, Ind.; Hunter Westbrook of Mehlville, Mo.; and Samantha Willits of Clinton were inducted into the chapter.

Ashley Tague was named president of the chapter, Kim Tokarski vice president, Hunter Westbrook secretary, and Geoff Piehl treasurer.

The chapter is advised by UIS faculty member Donna Rogers, SPHR, instructor of management, and co-advised by Desiree Becker, Employment Specialist at HD Smith.

The UIS SHRM Student Chapter is the newest nationally recognized professional student organization on campus. SHRM provides opportunities for students to network on the local level through student chapters. SHRM student chapters have regular meetings with programs designed to help members learn more about human resources (HR) and successful organizations. Meetings feature local leaders and HR professionals who provide insights about human resource issues in business, nonprofit and government.

For more information on the UIS SHRM Student Chapter, contact Donna Rogers at 217/206-8264 or

No comments: