Tuesday, January 26, 2016

UIS Education Honor Society inducts eight new members

The Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, chapter at the University of Illinois Springfield inducted eight new members during a ceremony on December 7, 2015.

Steven Elza, the Illinois State Board of Education’s 2015 Teacher of the Year, was the guest speaker at the event. He’s an automotive technology teacher at William Fremd High School in Palatine.

The Society inducts individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity in service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career, and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession.

Students inducted at this year’s ceremony include: Kendra Baber, Carrie Chelbian, Amanda Collins, Holly Earhart (Secretary), Christina Foster, Amie Herrara, Kyle Kent (Vice President) and Makinzie Yoho (President).

Kappa Delta Pi was established in 1911 to recognize and promote excellence in education. Through its programs, services, and strategic partnerships, the honor society supports the professional growth and teaching practices of educators throughout all phases and levels of their careers. The organization currently has more than 600 chapters and an active membership of nearly 40,000 worldwide.

For more information, contact Ronda Mitchell, chapter advisor and UIS assistant professor of Teacher Education, at 217/206-7008 or rmitche@uis.edu.

No comments: