Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Four new members inducted into national criminal justice honor society chapter at UIS

The University of Illinois Springfield recently inducted four new members into the Epsilon Chi Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the national criminal justice honor society, marking the start of the Spring 2013 Semester.

Alpha Phi Sigma, the only national honor society for criminal justice majors, recognizes the academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students. To be eligible, students must have completed at least one-third of the total hours required for graduation and must maintain specified high grade-point averages cumulatively and in the major. Students in this organization also complete annual service projects to benefit local criminal justice agencies.

New inductees include: Chris Baer of Beardstown; Rob Brouse of Springfield; Marissa Orr of Auburn; and Jason Pignon of Thayer.

These new members join the following continuing members: Kimberly Chaney of Decatur; Cole Hedrick of Rochelle; Tyler Johnson of Mansfield; John Jones of Petersburg; Ashley King of New Berlin; Ryan McKanna of Rock Falls; Marcus McNeal of Cahokia; Larry Perse of Chicago; James Sheehan of Springfield; Julie Yoder of Taylorville; and Amanda Walenga of Springfield.

Tyler Johnson is serving as president of the chapter, with Larry Perse serving as vice-president. James Sheehan is serving as secretary of the chapter, and Julie Yoder is serving as treasurer. Ryan McKanna is serving as public relations coordinator.

For more information, contact Juanita Ortiz, assistant professor of criminal justice, at 217/206-8481 or

No comments: